We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Full colour digipack with 8 page booklet containing photos and extensive liner notes by Jonathan Coe, Rosarita Crisafi & Richard Williams.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Suspended Moment: The Music Of Jonathan Coe (Live at JazzMi Festival, Milan, 2021) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      £9.99 GBP or more 

    You own this  


  • Digital Track
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £1 GBP  or more

    You own this



Jonathan Coe hoped for a career in music before becoming a celebrated novelist, playing
keyboards in various bands before What a Carve Up! established his career as a writer in
1994. The Rotters' Club, a winner of the Wodehouse Prize in 2001, got its name from the title
of an album by Hatfield and the North, giving a clue to his interest in the progressive rock
and jazz-rock fusion music of the 1970s. He has collaborated with the High Lamas, Theo
Travis and Louis Philippe, and now with Italy's brilliant Artchipel Orchestra, whose previous
projects have involved tackling the music of Soft Machine and Phil Miller.
Artchipel's members arranged and performed several of Coe's compositions at a festival in
Milan in 2021, with the writer as a guest musician. The five pieces engage the senses in a
twisty-turny Canterbury School kind of way, full of neat bits of melodic and rhythmic
invention, adroitly fleshed out by the arrangers (including Ferdinando Faraò, Artchipel's
founder and leader). Richard Williams - One Blue Moment

Recorded live at JazzMi Festival on the 30th October 2021
Recorded by Rosario Errico · Mixed by Vincenzo De Leo
Mastered by Matt Parker for British Progressive Jazz
All tracks composed by Jonathan Coe

Alto Saxophone - Andrea Ciceri
Baritone Clarinet - Alberto Zappalà
Baritone Saxophone - Rosarita Crisafi
Conductor, Arranger - Ferdinando Faraò
Drums - Stefano Lecchi
Electric Bass - Gianluca Alberti
Electric Guitar - Giuseppe Gallucci
Flute - Carlo Nicita
Keyboards - Jonathan Coe
Percussion - Lorenzo Gasperoni
Piano, Accordion - Luca Pedeferri
Soprano Saxophone - Rudi Manzoli
Tenor Saxophone - Germano Zenga
Trombone - Alberto Bolettieri
Trumpet - Marco Fior
Vibraphone - Luca Gusella
Violin - Paola Tezzon
Vocals - Francesca Sabatino, Naima Faraò
Arrangements -Francesco Forges (1 - 3), Andrea Serino (4), Beppe Barbera (5)

CD includes 8 page booklet with extensive liner notes by Jonathan Coe, Rosarita Crisafi & Richard Williams



all rights reserved



British Progressive Jazz London, UK

British Jazz label. Issuing the finest sounds, old and new. Archive audio restoration specialists. Upcycling musical antiquities.

contact / help

Contact British Progressive Jazz

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this track or account